Find more information about your Tennessee state income taxes below.
Where’s My Tennessee State Tax Refund?
Check the status of your Tennessee refund using these resources.
Refund Status Phone Support: 1-615-253-0600
Hours: Mon. – Fri. 8:30 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.
General Tax Information: 1-615-741-0443
2017 State Tax Filing Deadline: April 17, 2018
No Tennessee State Income Tax
Tennessee is one of the seven states that does not impose an income tax. Taxpayers are not required to file a state return or pay tax on their wages and monetary bonuses. The only income subject to tax is investment dividends and interest. That includes stocks, bonds and receivable notes and is taxed at a flat four percent rate for 2017.
Under this law, the first $1,250 in taxable income for Single filers is exempt from the tax (2,500 for joint filers). Taxpayers who make less than $37,000 annually and are over 65 years of age are also exempt from paying income tax on any earnings from investments.
Additionally, the tax is currently in the process of phasing out entirely. The rate decreases by 1 percent every year and will no longer be in effect starting Jan. 1, 2021.